## **Quality of Life and Environment**

The VLCT Board of Directors created five legislative policy committees to develop recommendations for a legislative platform in each policy area in the ensuing session. Committee members meet with secretaries and commissioners of agencies from time to time to discuss strategy and the implementation of laws. VLCT Advocacy staff also rely upon committee members for advice and expertise on specific issues during the legislative session.

Each summer, these committees meet to draft their recommendations. The VLCT Board of Directors then reviews, amends as needed, and approves the recommendations. The entire draft municipal policy is then sent to the VLCT membership, who votes on it at the VLCT Annual Meeting in October. Members may propose further amendments to the draft policy in writing prior to the meeting or on the floor at the meeting. Each member city or town has one vote at the annual or special meeting. Upon member approval of the policy by majority vote of those present, the Board, at its next meeting, establishes municipal policy priorities from among the many adopted policy issues. Those priorities provide the focus for Advocacy staff and the Board going forward.

The Quality of Life and Environment Committee is responsible for: land use planning, development, conservation, and regulation; housing; Act 250; economic development; waste management; telecommunications; energy, including renewable; health care; related quality of life matters.

## 2021-2022 Quality of Life and Environment Committee

- Mary Ann Goulette, Town Manager, West Rutland, Chair
- Justin Rabidoux, Public Works Director, South Burlington, Vice Chair
- Sandra Pinsonault, Town Clerk, Dorset
- Pat Sagui, Planning Commissioner, Westfield
- Cedric Sanborn, Planning Commission Chair, Barre Town
- Bill Shepeluk, Municipal Manager, Waterbury
- Todd Thomas, Zoning Administrator and Planning Director, Morristown/Morrisville

Each committee includes VLCT President Miro Weinberger and VLCT Executive Director Maura Carroll as *ex officio* members.